**Ontario.**—Slightly more than one-tenth of the area of Ontario is municipally organized and the remainder is governed entirely by the provincial government. The older settled section of the province is divided into 43 counties, five of which are united with others for administrative purposes. Each county, although it is an incorporated municipality, is comprised of the towns, villages and townships situated within its borders and these provide its revenue. There are 30 cities, 157 towns, 156 villages, 574 townships and 20 improvement districts in the province. Some of each are located in the northern districts which are not organized into counties. Supervisory control of municipalities is exercised by the Department of Municipal Affairs and the Ontario Municipal Board under the Municipal Act and other Acts governing aspects of municipal government.

The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto encompasses one city, four towns, three villages and five townships. It has been in existence since Jan. 1, 1954. The council is a federation of the 13 area municipalities and the councillors represent those municipalities. The chairman of the council is elected by the councillors and need not be a councillor. The council has jurisdiction over assessments, water works, sewerage works, metropolitan road systems, transit, municipal housing developments, community planning, parks and recreation areas, the Court House and certain health and welfare services. It also controls a unified metropolitan police force and a metropolitan licensing commission. The expenditures are financed by a levy apportioned among the area municipalities. All borrowing of the area municipalities for capital purposes is done by the Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto.

Manitoba.—Manitoba has six cities, which derive their powers from special Acts and do not come under the supervision of the Department of Municipal Affairs. The Department supervises the 35 towns, 37 villages and 112 rural municipalities under the Municipal Act. There are local government districts in settled areas not within municipalities where the province has placed a resident administrator to carry out the functions of a municipal council. The unorganized areas are the direct responsibility of the provincial government.

The Metropolitan Corporation of Greater Winnipeg has been in existence since Nov. 1, 1960. Its council is separate and distinct from those of the 16 area municipalities. The councillors are elected as individuals from ten new districts, each containing approximately the same number of voters. The council has jurisdiction over planning, zoning, land development, assessments, arterial roads, water supply, sewage disposal, transit and other services. It borrows money only for its own undertakings and leaves to its area municipalities the responsibility for welfare, police, fire protection and other services. Its expenditures are financed by a proportion of the business and other taxes levied on industrial or commercial property by the area municipalities and by a uniform levy on the equalized assessment of all taxable real property in the area municipalities.

Saskatchewan.—All municipalities in Saskatchewan derive their powers from general Acts that are designated with the name of the type of municipality. There are 11 cities, 110 towns, 369 villages and 296 rural municipalities. The area so organized consists of most of the southern two-fifths of the province; the remainder of this portion is administered for local purposes by the province in unincorporated local improvement districts. The northern three-fifths is sparsely populated and without local government, although some municipal services are provided by the province through operation of the Northern Administrative Area. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Alberta.—The whole province of Alberta is under some type of municipal organization. The province has an Act applying to each type of municipality and under these Acts the Department of Municipal Affairs supervises the 10 cities, 88 towns, 161 villages, 31 municipal districts and 17 counties. The latter administer schools as well as municipal services. Municipal government for the 49 improvement districts and two special areas is provided by the Department of Municipal Affairs.